Dominican Convent – Colourful Poem

DYDC Instructor Carla Fazio writes:

I came across a great poem by a fellow dance educator, Kristi Newsome. She was featured on a colleague’s website, mariasmovers.com. I look to Maria Hanley’s website from time to time for inspiration for my classes. In addition to being a close friend, she is a brilliant dance educator based in New York.

Here’s the poem:

I am a dancer. I am red hot. I’m quick. Fiery and precise, to taste me would be a sharp, staccato type spice.

I am a dancer. I’m yellow like sunbeams shining happy and bright. Full bursts to the edges, I create my own light.

I am a dancer. I’m a royal, purple with head held high and strong. The air pungent with plums. I reach and stretch out long.

I am a dancer. I am soft as a cloud. A blue floating daydream, of marbled elegance. Light, lullaby of cream.

I am a dancer. I’m a bright orange neon. A bit tangy, a bit juicy, you might even say I’m a bit Dr. Seuss-y.

I am a dancer. A freshly mowed green, the smell of grass in the breeze Watch me run on the playground and climb leafy trees.

I am a dancer. I’m a limp, sick type green. Floppy, soggy, and ill. A lazy wet noodle, sluggish, against my will.

I am a dancer. I am rich indulgence. Creamy, brown, chocolate treat melting and covering, a twirling taste so sweet.

I am a dancer. Cotton candy, lemonade, and lollipop, A fruity, flowery, fluffy pink . All make me leap, skip, and hop as soft as a butterfly’s wink.

I am a dancer. I’m a rainbow dancer. To fit various scenes, a changing chameleon. For what each movement means.
http://mariasmovers.com/2013/05/10/creating-with-kids-kristi-newsome/#more-3240

This lesson was based on Kristi’s lesson and it was the first time we played with movement and colour.

We did this activity following warm-up. Dancers found their own personal space in the room. I asked them to think of the way a specific colour made them feel or an image that came to mind when I said a specific colour (i.e. red). I asked them to make a still shape with their body that represented the colour we were focusing on. Then I read them the sentences from the poem in relation to the colour (i.e. I am a dancer. I am red HOT. I’m quick. Fiery and precise, to taste me would be sharp, staccato type spice). As I repeated the sentence 2 or 3 times, they were instructed to move around the room in a way or ways that represented what I was saying.

We did this with a total of 5 colours. It was a lot of fun.

When we concluded class, I asked them what their favourite “movement” colour was. Most of them enjoyed pink because they got to skip, imagine what it was like as candy floss, and try out a butterfly’s wink.

Website: http://www.dublinyouthdancecompany.com
Email: info.dydc@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

