Session Eight: An Unexpected Outcome

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


On request from the children they had asked to use the stained glass pieces from under the table as permanent features in the classroom. I joined the children in their classroom to turn the windows into stained glass. Light flooded the classroom for much of the day creating colourful filters of light that danced about the classroom as we worked.
I showed the children the images we had taken of each other using the geometric filter on the child’s camera. As an artist I feel that some of them are finished pieces in themselves. It is at times like this that the experimentation process with the children discloses an artistic and creative output when is least expected. Much of my own studio work goes through many stages and is often calculated in every detail before it is executed which leaves little room for a leap of faith or perhaps the risk of failure. This is for me where the collaborative process brings confidence and spontaneity to my studio practice. With this too My decision making and curatoring skills are continuously challenged and have become more finely tuned resulting in creating work of a higher quaintly both in the school and in the studio whether that is work on my own or pieces that we create together. We look a the geometric and abstract images of each other and I note how kind the children are to each other about each piece. The pieces in themselves are also very strong and some are quite beautiful.

As my experience with early years children grows I enjoy we’re my observations of them takes us. Over the weeks the children like to working in tiny detail which is quite unusual for this age group. Usually we work on the floor but today we worked at our desks. I gave each child one side of a glass slide mount and an assortment of materials that were flat and could be used with a collage type effect. I had also asked the children to look out for things they might find in the yard whilst out on break like feathers, leaves and anything very tiny flat that we could put in between the two pieces of glass.

The children each approached their piece quite differently. Some created quickly and others tested and remade and others carefully placing one item next to each other in a very decisive manner. As the end of the session we sandwiched together our slides and next week I will bring a slide projector to look at the images on a large scale. I find that using a slide projector retains a beautiful quality of colour and detail that is often lost when images are digitally projected. Even looking at the completed slides I am eager to see the images projected and for the children to experience a slide projector!

Leave a Reply

